Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From my perspective, there are more positive effects than negative effects of movies and televisions on young people.

To begin with, watching movies and televisions can cultivate audiences' sympathy. Sympathy is the ability to have emotional connections with others and can make people feel connected with the world and have the sense of belonging. Susan Sontag once said in the essay "the Decay of Cinema" that when audience are fully immersed into the plot of one movie, they can experience the larger experience of submerging themselves in lives that were not theirs and thus being kidnapped by the images. For example, when I watching The house that Jack Built, a masterpiece directed by Lars Von Trier, I can feel the despair, the isolation and the alienation which are transmitted via the cinema, and that experience is exactly the process of developing sympathy.

In addition, aesthetic consciousness can be developed through watching movies and televisions. Although there are numerous Hollywood blockbusters that have no artistic values and can only be "theme parks" as Martin Scorsese said in 2019, there are many cinemas that are true arts from The Breathless in the French Waves to A Hidden Life more recently. From watching those kinds of masterpieces, audience can learn director's unique aesthetics like Quentin Tarantino's violence aesthetics that is born from the violence and blood.

But I have to admit that there are critiques of mass media that media is a powerful force within society that can subvert essential norms and values and thus undermine the social order, and average people especially the youngsters are helpless and vulnerable to the manipulation power of media content. However, more recent scholars tend to use the theory of "catharsis" to defend the positive effects of mass media on young people. Viewing mediated aggression from TV shows or violent movie sates or reduces people’s natural aggressive drives. Also, viewers can learn that violence might not be appropriate in a given situation, and inclination toward aggression was inhibited by the information in the media presentation.

In a nutshell, as a form of art, the mass media including television and movies have more advantages than disadvantages towards young people.