Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Information is the most important thing to consider in this era, that is the information age. People are informed about different contexts from different sources every day, so the matter of resources broadcasting information is getting more and more attention. Though some people receive data from a single source, others are inclined to be informed from various sources. I am of the opinion that getting information from different perspectives and channels is way effective than using only one resource, and I have a couple of reasons to support my idea.

First, using distinct information channels or resources provide people with different perspectives and aspects of a subject. Using various resources will definitely lead to a better understanding of the agenda, and better assessment of the data, so people become well-informed.As an instance, I wanted to buy a cell-phone for my mother last week, and I visited one of the famous online sites that sells smartphones. I gained a lot of information about the products that caught my eye, but the site did not include all the information I needed. I had to visit other sites and after a lot of consideration, I finally found the information I need by juxtaposing various information from different sources. Using different resources quietly helped me towards choosing the best product for purchase.

Second, the media and information resources are susceptible to conveying biased messages or taking sides, so using one resource raises the possibility for an individual to become cognitively biased. It has been proved in research that cognitive biases influence individuals in their decisions, and one of the countervailing activities that can be associated with this phenomenon is using different aspects from different channels. For example, each soccer team has its channels to inform people about the activities regarding the teams, news, rumors, etc. Fans of the teams will likely join these channels, and their judgment is influenced by the biased message these channels can share. For clarification, a channel associated to support a specific team will not share information about the immoral actions of their players and instead focuses on the positive characteristics of the team such as honors, skills, talents, etc. Consequently, using only one resource of information escalates the rate of prejudice and bias, and deviates people from being well-informed about a subject.

Finally, I am of the opinion that it is better to make decisions by getting information from various resources, that mitigates the rate of prejudice, and provides people with a better assessment of the data, leading to a better understanding of the matter and being well-informed. An individual will not judge correctly by percieving information from only one or few resources.