Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents’ role in education has been a debatable issue. Educationists argue that there is more parent involvement in children’s education today than in the past. Personally, I express my approval of this argument.

On one hand, what has been put under consideration is the involvement of parents into their children’s education. It is well noted that is the current world, there are advanced, constantly developing technologies created to aid people with their daily jobs, therefore reducing the amount of time needed for working. Hence, parents are left with ample time to raise and care for their children. They are presented a great opportunity to help their children with their schoolwork, or to teach their children themselves to enhance their knowledge. For that reason, parents now play a more crucial part in their children education. More interestingly, it is common knowledge that nowadays, being educated has much greater importance. For instance, with a college degree, people are more likely to get accepted for a job. Parents are aware of this fact, subsequently they are more interested in their children’s academic progress. As a result, they are certain to take on a larger part in educating their children. Indeed, comparing to the olden days, there are more involvement by parents in kids’ learning process.

On the other hand, some people might say that because of video games and social media, parents are too distracted and no longer care for their loved ones. As a consequence, this prevents parents from taking any part in teaching their children. However, that is not necessarily the case. In fact, because they also have many other work to be done, it is not possible for them to spend too much time on these leisure activities. In addition, the fact is that today, it is much easier and more efficient for parents to educate their kids. With the arrival of innovations, parents are provided with much more powerful and accessible tools for education. For example, the Internet gives people access to an abundant variety of information. Online books are now available, making it simpler for parents to read and be more knowledgeable, thus enabling them to teach their own family. It follows that parents are certain to play a larger role in the education of the children. By and large, the claim that parents’ role in the education of children is reduced in the current world is intrinsically wrong.

In summary, increased free time, greater weight of being educated and aid by innovations are convincing reasons for my approval. It is highly recommended that educationists take my writing into detailed consideration to make a suitable decision on parents’ role in education.