Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there is both positive and negative aspects of depending on parents for making decisions of one's own life. People from all the centuries of human civilization would agree that yound people depended on their parents. But this culture is declining in a massive pace. Consequently, today's young sters have developed the skill of taking their own decison, which was quite impossible in the past.

To begin with, people of past had a narrow outlook. To illustrate, there were less access to internet in the past which inhibited them to learn the world from a young age. On the contrary, today people have very easy access to the knowledge sea of internet, from where they can learn different things. In this process, one finds which topics interests him and which doesn't. So, it is easy for him to take decisions from experiences of other people, that is learnt from internet.I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own personal opinion. You see, my father depended too much on my grandfather to take his career decision as he had no knowledge pros and cons of available professions. But, my brother, on the other hand, took his carrer decision all by himself beacause he learnt about all the good and bad sides of different jobs from internet. As a result, he was better able to take his own decision. For this reason, I think past people's dependence on parents for decision making was largely due to the lack of internet access.

Secondly, people of today's age practice much more individualism than people form past. Nowadays, people are more independent

and self-oriented. They prefer to take their decison by themselves. They even get offended if someone gives exxcessive advice to them. So they are better able to take their own decsions. Drawing from my own experience, I left my home after I passed the age of 18 because I though I can live by myself. But it would have been impossible for me if I had lived in an early time. My parents would not have let me to leave my home because they would have been concerned about my future. But, today's parents believe that their child can live by themselves. It is clear to see why decision taking is easy now than the past.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, it is evident that today young people are better able to take their decision than past. As long as some measurements are performed and some areas are involved, it is my firm believe that this claim would be held true.