Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes it is better to be dishonest. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Nowadays, the ethical standards of society have changed noticeably. For instance, some people believe that being dishonest will enhance opportunities in life. However, I believe that honesty is a crucial element, and individuals should always be honest. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, being honest means less stress and more confidence. Honest people do not pretend to be something else. They are constantly being themselves and naturally. Because of that, they seem more relax and trust themselves more than dishonest people. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. During my third year at the university, I did not do my assignment, and I pretended that I was sick. This lie put me under too much pressure and stress. I tried to convince my professor that I was ill and could not solve any problem in the assignment, which made me feel anxious. All in all, honesty always gives relief.

Furthermore, being dishonest usually comes with a lot of od terrible consequences. One of the reasons that we are dishonest is that the short-term gains seem apparent. But, these short-term gains have long-term effects. In the end, we should pay the cost of dishonesty. For instance, when my professor recognized that I was not ill in the previous example, she gave me zero in the assignment. So, honesty keeps you out of trouble.

Moreover, being honest comes with many benefits and reflects maturity and self-acceptance. Mature people maintain honest and healthy relationships with others. Consequently, they are always trustworthy and lovable in society. Furthermore, honesty is an indicator of self-acceptance. People who accept themselves are usually honest and straightforward.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that living an honest life is the best choice. Because being real means life free of stress and free of negative consequences.