Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

It is not a secret the ability to think and take a position about various matters in life is in human nature. As far as I am concerned, I agree that it is not becoming for teachers to share their social and political viewpoints with the students. I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the main responsibility of teachers is to nurture students and guide them to be capable of critical thinking, which will help them to firm their own opinions in different areas in life. In addition, students are in a state of their lives that their emotions could compromise their judgments. On the other hand, teachers play a moment role in their cognitions. If teachers only share their point of view without considering this sensitive point, they might plant ideas inside students’ minds. Therefore, it is crucial for students first to be familiar with the tenets of rational thinking and analyzing the facts, and then derive conclusions and make statements about political or social issues. For example, when I was in high school, I passionately was following the animal rights campaigns. I was confident that it is an essential subject matter for me because my biology teacher has thought us first to find the roots of a notion, and then go for its claims. We learned this rule through a class assignment in which, we had to investigate the principles of Darwin’s Evolution Theory, and express what we thought about it. After finishing high school, I found out that my teacher did not believe in the campaign I have been following back then, but he fully championed my actions for it. That is why the teacher should not make public opinions about ongoing social or political subjects.

Moreover, announcing views that teachers possess might cause an interruption in their class. Consider a situation in which the teacher has an aberrant viewpoint on a political issue, and the majority of his class are against him. Not only is this conflict irrelevant to the class, but also it is unnecessarily unpleasant. Students will not respect their teacher and consequently, not learn anything that year. Recent research illustrates that 75% of classes that their teacher did not involve his personal opinion in his work, rich higher final grades at end of the semester. This conspicuously shows the importance of keeping teachers’ sights to themselves.

In conclusion, I maintain that educators should not share their beliefs in class because it prevents students from independent critical thinking and might cause problems in their work.