Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being a teacher is one of the most ancient jobs since the development of language. Nevertheless, teachers are less and less valued by the societies. I feel this way because of two main reasons, which I explain in the following essay.

In today's modern world, there are lots of ways for anybody to learn new skills and broaden their knowledge. For example, almost all students have access to the internet and also the websites like youtube wherein there are many educational channels and videos. Therefore, some students may find no reason to appreciate their teacher. This is in contrast to the past when teachers were main persons who could teach us the essential knowledge and accordingly they were valued by students and society in general. It is noteworthy that similar argument can also be applied for the teachers, namely, they face less difficulty to prepare their educational materials. This is because they can use lots of resources on the internet about the syllabus they are going to teach, and broadly speaking, teaching has been much easier than the past. Therefore, some people may argue that it is natural if teachers are less valued by the society.

Secondly, nowadays there are lots of high powered jobs which are more demanding than being a teacher. These jobs usually are desirable and prestigious because by doing them one can make more money. For example, a CTO or a manager usually make significantly more money than a teacher. Consequently, as people are used to evaluate the value of a job by how much money one can earn from it, they have started to believe that teaching is not a high ranked jab. This, by itself lead to the fact that teachers are less valued by society than the past.

To conclude, with all these arguments taken into account, personally I think that teachers are less appreciated than the past. This is mainly because of the spreadity of online courses and educational materials.