Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays advertisements has a substantial role in marketing and they use various media such as Television to advertise. Some people claim that advertisements are harmful for young children. Controversy exists over whether, others believe that advertisements do not create any problem for them, and parents can expose them to advertising. I strongly believe that young children should not be exposed to advertisements directly because not only can not they distinguish between them, but also they can have some emotional effects on children.

On the primary causes is that young children do not have this ability to differentiate wrong or true information. On one hand, they would be susceptible to learn some inappropriate habits and it can be harmful for their health or their behaviors. For instance, a lot of advertisements are related to fast foods, and advertisers use fascinating and attractive scenes to attract customers. Therefore, it is possible that children tend to have this diet habit. On the other hand, advertisements are not arranged for different ranges of ages. Then, it is possible that children learn some activities that are not proper or suitable for their ages. For instance, in some advertisements there are some physical activities that emulation of them are harmful for children.

But there is a further more subtle point we should consider. Some advertisements can create some mental or emotional problems for children. In fact a lot of them use fancy homes or affluent people to make attractive advertisements, and this type of advertising can be detrimental for some children. It means that children cannot perceive that there are different social strata of people in a society, and they cannot understand about the economic conditions of their parents. Then they beg their parents to buy a special thing. For, example when children watch some fancy toys in an advertisement, they insist their parents to buy that. A lot of parents cannot afford to purchase everything and this lack can create some emotional problems for children. Then, advertisements can have crucial role in relationship between children and their parents.

All in all, both lack of accurate recognition of advertisements and creating some emotional problems necessitate that children should not be the goal of advertisements. It is highly recommended that, parents should keep their young children from advertisements.