Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are positive and negative aspect of group work. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely agree that students can learn more effectively when they are asked to work together with other students. It is my firm believe that students can be benefitted more from group projects for a number of reasons, and I will explore my ideas in the following paragraphs.

First of all, students can hone the communications skill during group work. Students have to discuss how to split the work and how to integrate their work during the process of collaborations. Therefore, they can sharpen their interpersonal ability which is very valuable as students can not gain the soft skill from the lectures. Drawing from my personal experience, I was assigned to work a group project with other three students. We had to discuss very frequently to present our group work. During the process, I was not fear to express my ideas in front of people and learned to accept the different views. My interpersonal skills have been sharpened because of the group work. For this reason, I believe that students can learn more from group projects,

Secondly, students can brainstorm with other students during group work. If students work alone on projects, they do not have the chance to exchange ideas with others. I believe collecting different kind of views can create the best solution. For example, I had a computer science project last semester. The professor offers the flexibility to work alone or work with others. At the first, I thought work by myself was a better idea so I chose to work alone. However, I was stuck in the process and could not figure out the next step. Luckily, I found a partner during the middle of process, we tried to work together and shared our thoughts. We successfully solve the project and got a high score in the end. If I had not worked with a teammate, I could not succeed in the end. As a result, I maintain students working together is better.

Although some people argue there will be free riders when students work together, the professors have asked students to do peer evaluation for their group work. By this way, all students will put efforts and ease the situation of free riders.

In light of reasons above, I strongly believe students can learn more effectively when they work together.