Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding whether it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the standpoint that learning ideas and concepts is more crucial because they are the conclusion of a thing.I partly agree their notion. However, from my point of view, I argue that learning facts matters more than understanding ideas and concepts.

Firstly, learning facts lead to a firm memorize to the ideas and concept of one thing. When we are exposed to a new thing, the fist impression is that the real facts of it, Hence, it can help us a lot as we meet the similar things again because we can call up the facts we learned before. Consider my own experience can shed some light on this issue. When I was a student in middle school, I was taught the lighting and the concept of the lighting needle in a physical class. At first, I can hardly know why the simple needle can bring the strong current to the land. But I just figure out why it works as soon as our teacher began to describe the needle on top of every tall building. It was just at the point did I realize the function of the needle and the ideas behind the it , I can still remember how it works even now.

Secondly, it is a perfect way for students themselves to conclude ideas and concepts from the facts. For most concepts and ideas, they are concluded and calculated from some facts. As we live in reality, the only method for we to discovery new knowledge is to conclude from the known facts. Like an old Chinese proverb goes: you can get what the world are when you come across enough things. So learning is the same. Pony, a prestigious and talented scientists in China, found a new sorting algorithm from a fact that all the sorting method is similar. When he was researching the sorting algorithm in university, he learned the fact that almost all of them have to do many circles. So he concluded the ideas and concept of them and invented a new sorting algorithm which contains only one circle.

It is undeniable that some students tend to learn the ideas and concepts directly because they think it is more simple than conclude from the fact. But it is a more useful way for them to learn the facts as the logical procedure is vital for the education.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument for that it matters more for students to understand ideas and concepts than to learn facts, namely the simple conclusion is easy to learn. Firm memorize, coupled with the benefit of concluding from facts by themselves, makes a strong case for learing facts is more important than understanding ideas and concepts.