Do you agree or disagree with the statement. Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and example for to support your answer.

Some people believe that truth should only be exposed when required, to prevent unwanted pain for others. However I feel, in a relationship, being truthful is one of the important qualities a person should possess for the following reasons.

To begin with, any kind of relation persuades an individual emotionally in many ways. While a lie can turn a person into a vulnerable state, being honest makes the people stronger. For instance, I had a patient for physical therapy rehabilitation, who was an excellent basketball player. Unfortunately, he met with a fatal road accident in which one of his leg was severely injured and underwent above knee amputation to save the rest of the thigh region. The surgeon informed the family that he won’t be able to play basketball again due to the amputation. To prevent more mental trauma and pain, the parents were resilient to share this news with their son (patient) and consoled him by saying that he will recover and get back on the field to play soon. Eventually, when the son faced the reality, he was heartbroken, shocked and went into severe depression. Have his parent had not concealed the truth; their son would have been more strong, emotionally, to handle that situation.

Moreover, dishonesty can sow a seed of distrust in a relationship resulting in long-term repercussions. For example, when my cousin John was in University he had a friend named Sam. John had couple of his own original researches to conduct. On his professor’s request, he shared one of those studies with Sam. He was too excited to work on the research. On completion, against john's will, he secretely published the article by his name in an international journal instead of Johns’, who was supposed to be the first author. This episode broke off my cousin’s belief on his friend and could never trust anyone again.

In conclusion, honesty should be seriously considered in any relationship. This is because it can make the person emotionally stronger and because it brings faith which is crucial in nurturing a relationship.