Essay topics:

TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Influencing by others is one of the most critical concerns of modern society. Needless to say that students are under the impacts of others in every age. Some people may characterize teachers responsible for students' behavior more than teachers, whereas others would take the reverse view. However, I firmly of the belief that students infinitely react like their friends and more influenced by them as a comparison to teachers. The following underlying reasons are going to substantiate my stand-point.

The first fact that holds me this concept is that students spend more time with friends. It can be illustrated that everywhere the more students are, they will be more favorable to participate. The best way to effect perfectly on students is by getting help from their closest friends. For example, when I was persuading my family business at the bakery equipment distribution company a few years ago, I was studying master in the university, so I spend the most of my time with my friends in the company. I can remember my induction motor teacher was really unfavorable to me; hence, I didn't participate in his lessons. After a while, I realized that he is a perfect guy since he tried to communicate more with me and become one of my friends as a teacher. He has significant impacts on my entire of my life, not only as a teacher but also as a perfect friend. Thus, it can be seen that this opportunity couldn't occur to me if my teacher wouldn't become one of my best friends.

Another reason is that similar experience, according to the same age between friends is extremely widespread. I read several articles on the Iranian society journal about people influence others. They analyze the various impacts of human nature; hence, they assume that every person could effect, positive or negative on others, but the more connection between them is, the more impacts will be. On of the articles estimates that approximately 30 percent of people effected by same-age friends; so, teachers are kind of the grow up friends. I can remember when I was studying at Sharif university about nine years ago, I had many friends with a variety of age. I gained the best experience of my life from my same-age friends like love, social, family tie experience. In fact, I was under the impact of my best friends entire of my life. Thus, it seems reasonable to assume from this experience that same-age friends have an extreme role in student life.

In conclusion, though some may oppose the idea, students are more effected by their friends, not only because of the more time they spend with them but also since they common experiences which could help them to better grow up. Every person should have perfect friends with high similarity entire his life in order to obtain positive impacts from him.