The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The extended family is very important in one's life. It is thought by some people that in the past members of an extended family were closer than they are nowadays. However, in my view, the extended family is always important, no matter what time of age it is. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, in today's world, people tend to live where their job is located. They are focused on their individual life, rather than the life of the entire family. If their job is located completely in a different country, they would decide to leave right away and fulfill their needs without thinking about the rest of the family. However, that does not mean that their family members are not important. My experience as the youngest member of my family, is a compelling example of this. About two decades ago, I moved to another city because I found a new job, which was one of my best opportunities to advance in my career. I did not think twice, I left right away. Meanwhile, I had a very close relationship with my grandparents, and I knew that being fare from them would make me feel homesick. I loved them unconditionally and i missed them so much, but that does not mean that I did not care of them because I moved to another city. I called them every week to make sure they were doing fine. That means that they are and would be very important to me, regardless the circumstances. According to this experience, I believe that the importance of the extended family members was and it is crucial all the time.

Secondly, nowadays people are very private. People think differently than they did back in the day. They prefer to keep their things private by not sharing with other family members. They would be open only to those family members that they think are trustworthy and keep their secrets. This always depends on how close their relationships are. On the other hand, in the past people lived all together in one house, they could not keep secrets or be as private as they could be today. For example, my cousin who is my age, lived in the same house with my grandparents. She never felt to be close with my aunt, and always kept secrets from her. She wanted to keep her life private as possible. Since I was close to here she trusted me more than her aunt, and shared all her problems and asked me for advice. I was pleased to help because she was important to me. I respected her choice. Overall, people in this time of age think differently, they want to keep their private life separated from others, and that could give the impression that they are not important to other family members.

To sum up, I highly believe that the extended family is always important regardless the time. I hold this view because nowadays people's lifestyle has changed and that would give the impression that they do not think for their family members.