Films can tell us a lot about the country in which they were made. What have

you learned about a country from watching its movies? Use specific examples

and details to support your response.

It is a well-known fact that arts often represent culture in which they exist. Today we take a look at cinematograph which may be considered as one of the youngest and at the same time most influential arts of contemporary world. Through this kind of art we can learn about countries and cultures in which the movies are created. To support my stance we will look at American and Asian films.

Firstly, we may analyze American movies in particular the ones which were made in Hollywood. What can we learn from blockbusters which were made in the USA? Although there is no simple answer on this question, we may definitely aver that we are able to learn a lot about American culture and its development. For instance, we may see how a role and image of a woman in the society has changed through time. If we take a look at classical movies of 1950s, we will figure out that a woman is a mother and a maid who cares about husband and children; she keeps the house clean and does not have a job. However, if we watch movies which were made in 2000s, we will see another image of a woman. Today's female has a job and career; she is not limited by family and husband. In other words, studying films may reveal the development of culture owing to the fact that movies reflect culture and they are changing with it as well.

However, you may assert that it is unreasonable to extrapolate one example on all situations, perhaps, only films which were made in Hollywood mirror culture in which they are made. To refute this claim we may study Asian movies. In fact, those films represent culture of a country where a film is created as well. For instance, Asian movies are saturated by philosophy of martial arts and Buddhism which are cornerstones of many Asian cultures from Thailand to China. Probably, the best example is Bruce lee's films which give us an illustration of Chinese prospect on the world. Moreover, films of Japanese directors represent Japanese culture as well. In other words, movies indeed represent county in which they are shoot.

In conclusion, although many of us are prone to believe that watching movies are useless, as far as I am concerned, this activity may enrich watcher's understanding about a country where the film was made. In fact, movies not only represent cultures but also convey information in the most easily available way possible.