Grades encourage students to work harder at school Do you agree or disagree Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Grades can have a negative or positive impact on the feelings of the students, depending on how we can see it. On one hand, some students can claim it is unfair that all is reduced to a number, while the teachers can claim it is an objective way to evaluate the teaching process. But, if I were forced to choose one side of that discussion, I would completely agree with the idea that grades motivate students to work harder. I feel this for several reasons that I will discuss in the following paragraphs.

First, obtaining high grades can push students to continue studying. In some cases, teachers tend to give out student’s grades in front of the whole class. Thus, those with low scores can get embarrassed. On the other hand, students who are told to have high marks tend to feel happy and they feel as if that grade was a reward for their high effort. So, this feeling of happiness and satisfaction can move other students to seek the same grades. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was a freshman, I obtained a very low mark for programming among the remaining subjects. This fact made me worry about my academic situation since I could fail. Obviously, I changed my study strategy, and I put all my effort in my lower mark subject. Consequently, my grades in academic activities such as lessons, homeworks,projects, etc started to increase over time and this motivated me to be better.

Secondly, obtaining high marks help students to improve their possibility to obtain a scholarship. Since some scholarships require a high grade in order to reward the best students. Therefore, students start to put more effort to obtain high marks because in some cases scholarships give an economical award. This award allows students to dedicate full time to academic activities. In other cases this scholarship helps students to improve their academic record to apply to some universities and enroll in it. In my experience, when I searched for a scholarship. The requirements of scholarship imply an average grade of 9 over 10. So, I needed to improve my academic performance. I studied more and obtained only grades over 9. This fact helped me to increase my possibilities to win a scholarship.

In conclusion, high grades have many positive impacts in the academic life of students, thus I feel that in fact grades stimulate students to enhance their academic performance. Moreover, high marks provide good opportunities in the academic environment such as scholarships and promote self confidence of students and increase the feeling of happiness and satisfaction.