Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

--Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

--Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

--Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether should people correct the teachers' or the leaders' mistakes is always a debated question. If this problem is not dealt with well, it might cause some harmful effects. In my opinion, I believe to interrupt and correct the speaker is the best way to solve this issue. And there are several points that I want to mention.

First of all, it is rather important to remind the speakers of their mistake right away, because it can avoid other people listening to the talk to misunderstand the truth. Furthermore, if the wrong idea is not revised directly, other people will remember the wrong concept or information which can cause serious consequences. For example, when I was in university, I once attended a meeting with other students on the basketball team. The leader was announcing some crucial information about an upcoming game we were going to participate in. However, the leader then gave the wrong date of the game which dramatically caused the whole team to miss the game. If someone who already knew the time was wrong and spoke up then that wouldn't happen.

Second, though it is the seemingly proper solution to the problem, we should also keep in mind that the tone of the corrector should not make the speaker get ashamed. That is, the person who speaks up should be aware of how not to make the situation turn weird. Taking an experience of mine as an example, I accidentally noticed my teacher was teaching a topic wrongly. And in order to deal with it, I used a joke that is relative to the lecture and gave my teacher hints to amend his mistake. As a result, the joke not only helped my teacher but also gave all the people in the classroom additional laughter.

In conclusion, to correct the speaker's mistake is a good solution if we use an appropriate attitude to face it. Hence, we can not only solve the problem but also not humiliating the speaker.