It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Knowledge knows no barrier. Although some people believe that having knowledge on a broader range of academic subjects is beneficial, however, I strongly feel that it's better to specialize on a specific domain consider the short and long term benefits. I firmly believe this was because of several reasons, and I will develop on these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, upskilling in a particular domain brings short term benefit in term of job opportunities. Today's job market is highly competitive and skilled employees are in high demand. Therefore, when someone specialize on a particular domain, they want to work as a professional in their career, they are in a better place to get hired by multinational corporations. Subsequently, they can land a job at their earlier age and support their family financially. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, last year, when I was planning for pursuing master's degree, I was really confused which field to choose. Back then, I was having five years of experience working in an international company as a software developer. But, with a desire to switch my domain to data science, I decided to pursue master in Artificial Intelligence only, not in Computer Science, wide range covering multiple subjects. As a result, after completing my graduation, I got placed in an International company as a Data Scientist. For this reason, if I had never take the decision, I would have never achieved my dream of working as a Data Scientist.

Secondly, specialization helps you in long term as you would be in a better position to take the ownership while working as a professional. It is always necessary that we upskill ourselves on the domain we are working on rather than focusing on gaining knowledge on multiple subjects. In particular, this expertise comes handy when you are handling a critical situation. Drawing from my own experience, while working as a software developer in my previous organization in 2015, I remember, it was around 11 pm we along with my team members were busy to solve a bug in our product which could damage the customer's satisfaction. Consequently, it would cost huge loss to our company. However, I feel so blessed when I think about the moment when my team lead used his intensive knowledge of computer network and found out that this bug was due to a network issue at the customer side. As a result, we including our manager felt proud about him and he got promoted to Architect role. For this reason, it is certainly clear to see that if my team lead has never invested his time specializing in that domain, we would have faced a huge embarrassment.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that it's always better to specialize in one subject instead of spending valuable time to learn multiple subjects. This is because it will help to outshine in career and allow us to be an expert of the subject, directly related to our future goal.