It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

There is a Chinese proverb which states, “Everything loses its value as it grows old, except friendship.” As paths change, many people develop new relationships as the love for old friends fades slowly. However, to live a happier life, I believe it is better to stick to old friendships.

First of all, friends know little about each other’s attitudes towards life, tastes, and personalities at first. Therefore, it is not surprising that, during its first few months, any friendship is prone to misunderstandings and, even sometimes, brawls. Old friends have passed this hard phase and have a deeper mutual understanding. On the other hand, one who has lost his old friend feels the stress of starting over again and going through this hard period.

Also, one of the most important factors that tighten the bond between two friends is the memories that they share. The same impact can be seen on a newly-divorced woman. She tries to remove all the traces of her ex-husband, like photographs and gifts, to get over him because the memories bring back his love. Keeping old friends has the advantage of having a relationship that enjoys a lot of common memories. Long-time friends can chat for hours about the amazing time they have spent together.

Last but not least, as a philosopher suggests, trust is the “social glue” that keeps the society together. One who is betrayed understands that it cannot be built easily and requires years to be developed. Without trust, it will be hard to ask a friend for help. Moreover, confiding the undisclosed parts of one’s life to a friend will result in the fear of the secrets being given away. Comparing to old friendships, lack of trust can be felt between new friends, which make their relationship a looser one. Old friends have proven their loyalty to the relationships and the fact that the friendship is prior to their own desires.

In conclusion, it can be a better idea to cherish old friendships and keep them rather than making new ones. As time passes by, friends gain more understanding, share more sweet memories and build more trust.