It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

Education and ability to learn things has played an important role in human evaluation. It is the key factor to human to become the dominant animal in the planet. With advance current we have formal system for education; schools universities and so forth. I believe that, these institution should encourage students to understand ideas and concept, rather than learn them as facts.

First and foremost, understanding concepts and ideas improve the creativity. It encourage students to do innovations. For example, when I was at high school our science teacher encourage students to understand concepts and ideas. Because of that, our students tried to do science projects and did experiments to understand concepts. Many participated innovation competitions and won places. This was all due to we understood the concept behind the facts we learn and apply them in real life.

Secondly, it helps to enhance the appetite toward subjects. If we do not understand things we learn then, we tend to hate the subject. Moreover, when we try to learn them as fact situation become worse. For instance, in my primary school. I did not understand concepts and ideas taught in mathematics. Therefore I hate that subject and I score very low marks. However, In high school my math teacher helped me to understand the concepts and from then math is my favorite subject.

Last but not least, understanding concepts and ideas is more effective learning technique than learn them as facts. When a student understand a concept then all the related concepts are also become easier to understand. If one tries to learn them as facts then, he or she does not see connection between facts. The final results is he/she has to remember everything separately as independent facts. Moreover, from my personal experience, I realized that when you understand concepts and ideas you can score well in exams. In addition, you feel more confidence about you and the subject. This greatly helpful in practical life.

In sum, students should try to understand ideas and concepts when they learn. This helps students to improve their creativity, to enhance

the likeliness toward the subject. Finally it is more efficient that learning them as facts.