It’s difficult for teachers to be both popular (well liked) and effective in helping students learn. Agree or disagree?

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated and radically progressive era in which we live, all teachers have always been involved in a great struggle to do their best to teach and educate their students at high schools and universities. Whereas some people debate that it is straightforward to be a beloved as well as an impressive teacher in students’ minds, on the other side of the continuum, stand others, believing that this idea is not correct and it is very arduous to be both favorite and effective teacher in learning of students. As far as I am concerned, I categorically concur with the second mental attitude. In the ensuing essay, my perspective will be perspicuously substantiated by the underlying and conspicuous reasons.

To begin with, one of the most paramount points which makes teachers professional and effective in learning is that this person needs to set several rules for students. These rules definitely oblige students to do their homework and necessary tasks in order to learn their lessons greatly. Under such a circumstance, not the majority of students think positively about that teacher and do not like him because, in their minds, that individual is a strict and picky person who forces them to do something. However, the teacher does all his best to educate them effectively by providing different rules and tasks for students. An example can shed some light on this subject. Several years ago when I was a student at elementary school, I could remember that I really did not like my geography teacher. This is because he always specified several tasks for us to do even on weekends and public holidays. In such a situation, I completely believed that he was an effective teacher who taught us a course profoundly and moreover, all students did not have any problem in that course.

Having discussed the issue from the previous perspective, I would rather look at it from another standpoint. Students usually like a teacher who does not specify several projects and take-home exams for them to do. Although this teacher is very great and popular in any student’s mind because he has provided a good situation for students to have more leisure time and do their personal tasks, this person actually does not select an impressive method for students of his course. This is because those students cannot learn their lessons without being involved in different projects and homework. In such a situation, they are not able to increase their knowledge or even settle down their problems. An example can drive this notion dramatically home. When I studied mechanical engineering at the University of Melbourne, I had a teacher for the material course. This person did not specify any project in this course and I did not learn this course very well. However, the preponderance of students thought he is a popular teacher because he does not determine any project during a semester.

In conclusion, taking into the aforementioned reasons and examples, I am of the opinion that it is not very easy for teachers to be both effective and popular in teaching. This is because if you want to be an impressive teacher in education, you need to set several rules for your students to learn their lessons very well, therefore, this individual is not a popular and favorite teacher in his students’ minds.