Nowadays, food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live?

Food is one of the most important aspects of human life since primitive era. It provides energy for our routine daily activities as well as night’s sleep. Actually we cannot sustain more than five days without sufficient food and water. Needless to say, healthy food plays a dramatic role to prevent diseases and malnutrition. Even though nowadays, food has become easier to prepare, most of the time it is not fresh and causes a lot of diseases due to artificial flavoring and preservatives. On the other hand, the families’ get-togetherness has taken a backseat to other priorities because of precooked foods which are served alone.

The first and main disadvantage of changing food habits is reduction of health and increase of maladies. People have no regard to foods and eat up whatever is easy to cook, which normally contains more calories. As the only objective that people pursuit is working, they make all their efforts to cut time on other activities such as sport and cooking and then they spend it on their careers. After few years, this devotion to the job makes them miserable because they have to encounter serious diseases and spend more time in hospital while others work and enjoy their lives. For example, two years ago I had a teacher who worked very hard even late at night and woke up early every morning. She did not have enough time to cook or sport and she dedicated all of her time to research and at last she could get president’s award for her achievements which was an honor. But after six month I understood she was hospitalized for two months because she suffered from Lupus, a disease whose main risk factor is preprocessed foods. Now she has to spend most of her time in the house and gradually her other coworkers were substituted for her. So, although changes in the food style have bought more time for human beings, they have endangered their health.

Moreover, today mankind suffers from isolation and the disease of present era is solitude. Food provides not only all the nutrition for bodies but also the needs of our souls. Eating dinner together after a hard working day and talking about events is a great means to alleviate our mental pressure and strengthen relationships in the family. For instance, whenever my husband has a terrible day, he comes home sooner than usual to talk about his problems during dinner time and so-called commune with me and then I try to relieve his cares. He hates junk foods because he believes it makes spouses disaffected so he insists that we have to spend some parts of our days together and no time is better than dinner. Therefore, despite recent changes in preparing food contribute people to have more time, they make their lives cold and soulless.

All in all, it cannot be doubted that revolutionary changes in food preparation assist people in some cases but as a matter of fact they have destroyed some other important aspects of life and have added to our problems. Man is caught in a race against the clock and does not respect to his physical and mental health which can engender irrecoverable damages after few years. Granted, sick people cannot work efficiently and our bodies lose their functions without proper foods. We live and work to have great experiences with our families, not to sacrifice them for our careers. Therefore we should not allow technology divests our health and happiness in our families.