Nowadays, many job interviewers and employers are looking for various additional sources of information to better understand a job application. Which is the best way for the employers to better know the situation of a job application?

- Contacting previous employers the job application worked for and asking for further information

- Checking the job applicants’ profiles on social platforms (such as social networking websites and social media)

- Letting the job applicant work for the company for a short period of time (1-month) and then decide whether to hire the applicant permanently

In modern society, with the popularity of social media and social networking, it is easier for job interviewers to glean more information about their job applicants. At this time, a general controversy arises. Some people believe checking the profiles of the applicants is the most efficient way to grasp a clear picture of them, while others hold a different belief that we had better get in touch with their previous workmates to evaluate their situations. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with these two ideas, and I believe letting the applicant work in the real workplace should be viewed as a superior option.

In the first place, working in a real environment can help job interviewers have a more comprehensive understanding of the job applicant in terms of his real abilities. As we all know, possessing the ability to put what has been learned into practice is critical not only for employees but also for companies. Companies treasure employees who can make profits for them instead of workers who only memorize the dull equations and theories listed in the textbooks. Sometimes the nerds who can succeed in exams and have a perfect GPA on their resume cannot do a good job in real workplaces. If the job applicant is granted the chance to show himself, the job interviewer can point out his merits and weaknesses with ease, which actually is a time-saving behavior in the long term. For example, last year I had a short period of internship at an Internet magnate. During that time, I performed well, and my bosses had lots of opportunities to evaluate my competence, ranging from speaking skills to math and programming skills. My leader was very satisfied. And finally, I got an offer that enables me to work there for a longer time.

In addition, it is also of vital importance for the interviewers to figure out whether the job hunters are suitable for the working group. Our society values cooperation and everyone is interrelated just like different components of an engine. So, the interviewers should ensure that the right person goes into the right group according to their personality and characteristics. Whether the job applicant can understand the company culture and get accustomed to the working atmosphere or not? Whether he can work with other colleagues harmoniously without triggering some quarrels or not? Only through letting him have an opportunity to work in that workplace, can these questions be answered.

Admittedly, we can also obtain some valuable and manifold information about the job hunters from other channels, such as their previous coworkers and their social media such as LinkedIn, a pervasive career platform used by people all over the world. But we have to be aware of the deficiencies of the information that we get from those methods. They may be biased, leading us to get discriminatory impressions of the applicants. And when evaluating one person, we need a fairer method in order to avoid missing some real talents.

In a nutshell, working in a company is the best way for job interviewers to judge applicants. In this way, not only can the advantages and disadvantages in practice be fully checked, but also the fitness between applicants and the organization can be taken into consideration in an efficient way.