New life adaptation is the first difficulty that new students in university should face and deal with. Some think that orientation or an information session will be helpful, while others prefer to seek advises from senior students. In my opinion, the latter is a method more effective in assisting newcomers in integrating into their first-year university life.

First of all, compared to a short introduction program, getting guides and suggestions from higher grade students in the same major will be more practical and efficient. The information from older students is more comprehensive from campus facilities to student services, from good bargains on various daily stuff to useful tips on each learning module. For example, the freshman orientation might instruct students which number to call or which office to visit when they have difficulties in life or study. However, a senior student could provide new recruits with more available assistance. These include introducing the grocery stores where they can access food from home countries or sending review notes that are helpful in exams. Therefore, meeting other experienced students in the same program definitely makes the first-year life in universities more convenient and more comfortable.

Secondly, to know people around means more than getting bits of help, but also making new friends. As a newcomer in an entirely strange place, the priority is to get to know your peers. One effective means to make new friends is to meet people regularly and sometimes, seek assistance from them. Only after newcomers setting up their network in a brand new environment, can their life be back to the track and start smoothly. A statistic published by a youth organization shows that after the first year in universities, those who built up their own social circles at the beginning achieved more significant academic goals than those who didn't. This research proves that networking with people in the same major benefits freshmen in their university lives.

To sum up, although orientation workshops are helpful, the real workable way to adapt to the challenging beginning in the university is to talk to older students from the same faculty.