Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Researches are very crucial for the society. Without investigating and studying, science would never develop. Therefore, it is important to select right material and resources to achieve prompt and reliable results. Even though some people believe that books and articles are better than internet, surely, many other people disagree. In my view, internet is the best source of information for two main reasons.

First, using the internet saves our planet, Earth. Every year, many trees are being cut to publish more books. If the process of cutting trees could stop, we could save a lot of trees. This could eventually help the environment in terms of reducing global warming. Couple years ago, I watched a documentary about global warming. The documentary explained that how cutting trees would increase the average temperature of the Earth by increasing carbon dioxide level. Trees consume carbon dioxide to make glucose and oxygen during photosynthesis. Having fewer trees, increases carbon dioxide level which is one of the global warming causes. As you can see, using more internet and cutting fewer trees can clearly impact our habitat.

Second, internet assisst millions of researchers to do faster and easier research. Finding books in libraries can be really frustrating. However, researching a subject by internet can be as easy of entering the keyword. For instance, three years ago, I was a main researcher in a pharmaceutical project. The research was about studying the effect of different excipients (molecules that are used along with main drug in formulations) on stabilizing IgG. I wanted to have a complete background research in the field before designing my experiments. I simply logged in to my Scifinder account and entered two keyword: IgG and excipients. The results amazed me. I was able to find over 1000 articles and this was only the beginning. After Scifinder, I used another reliable websites such as ScienceDirect. At the end, I was able to find enormous research papers and review articles. I narrowed down my research to the past 10 years. I read all of related papers in 2 days. Without having internet, it probably would have taken many hours to find related papers. This experience taught me that internet can save many researchers precious time.

In conclusion, internet not only does save our environment and prevents global warming but also it provides a quicker research for scientists. I recommend all of the people to use internet before checking out libraries.