QUESTION

Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Earth is home to a number of flora and fauna. Human beings are one among the many species. Due to the more evolved human brain, human beings started developing a sense of superiority and ownership over this beautiful planet. This lead to a massive decline in the other living creatures and keeps getting worse by the second. The prompt says that saving land for farming, housing etc is more important than protecting areas for endangered species. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement due to the following two reasons.

To begin with, all the animals have equal rights of survival on Earth and should be treated that way. Human beings can't neglect these endangered species at the expense of their own greed and hunger. Having areas meant particularly for animals such as national parks would help them to thrive and survive. Amazon is said to be the lungs of the planet as it consists of more than 50% of species of plants and animal present on Earth. Continuous deforestation would have devastating impact not only the animals but also on human beings as an ecosystem that large is a major contributor for the climate in that region. It's important to not plunder the resources from earth and damage the ecosystems at the expense of animals.

To add further, saving land for housing, industry may be a temporary solution as there would be a time when there won't be any forests or land to destroy for the same. Growing population leads to an increased demand thereby affecting the protected parks or natural resources. The lush green forests and lakes around the city of Bengaluru, a city in south India have been reduced to a concrete jungle with sky high buildings. The city continues to destroy it's resources in it's vicinity leading to many unprecedented problems such as water shortage, change in climate as the rains have reduced, etc. These problems will be further aggravated unless relevant action is taken in controlling the population and conserving the environment around the city.

Mother Earth is said to be home for a multitude of living creatures and should be treated the same. Human beings should limit the rate at which they are going about plundering the planet for resources, damaging the planet as well as causing extinction of several species. It's a time bomb which has only picked up the pace in recent years and when the time comes, humans would've destroyed the planet and every living soul in it.