Some countries in the region have been trying to attract more foreign talent to boost their economic competitiveness. This has, however, caused some concern in those countries which are faced with a “brain drain”, where their own talented professionals ha

Our profession plays an important role in our lives. It's part of our status in the society. It is not a secret that people attend to college because they want to improve their life conditions. Some people consider that prefessionals such as doctors should stay in their countries, and work there for the rest of their lives. I don't agree with this view because professionals should go anywhere they think might find better advantages.

In the first place, there are countries that don't provide professionals with suitable salaries to live and to cover their basic needs. I consider that people who went to college should get a good salary to permit them to live as a professional demand. But, in some countries it's not like that. Indeed, in these places the government doesn't have enough money to pay salaries. So, it is a wise decisition for professionals to migrate to other places. Furthermore, developed countries around the world are requiring professionals from other countries because they don't have enought professionals such as teachers to meet their demand. Now returning to the previous idea, People no always find the opportunities that they wish in their lands, for instance, I grew up in Dominican Republic. My parents always gave me the things that I wanted, even they paid my school expenses. After attending to college and getting my degree, I found how difficult was to get a job, so I decided to move to United States to search for better opportunities. In effect, I think that moving was a great idea because I found a good job. As you can see, migration might improve our economic conditions.

Another noteworthy aspect that we should reflect in this ongoing disscution is that professionals not only migrate searching for better jobs, also they think in the futures on their children and take into consideration the school system. As a matter of fact, countries that don't pay well to professionals, also, don't allocate a fair amounts of money to education. In fact, according to some studies, countries such as Haiti that doesn't invest enough money in education don't have enough schools available for students. So, we might conclude that if we micrate we might help our children to get a better education, as well.

To sum up, in despite of the fact that we love our countries, some times it is necesary to micrate to other places where we might find better opportunities, not only for us, also for our family. I encourage everyone, no to be afraid and search for better opportunities in other countries