Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the competition between young people is increasingly fierce, parents are attaching more and more importance to children's performance in the school. Particularly, the majority of parents hope their children to get high grades and some of them even incentivize kids to do so by offering money for each good mark. As far as I am concerned, this is not a good idea for the following reasons.

To begin with, the money strategy might not work and even backfire. As we all know, the outcome of an exam is not only affected by the subjective willing of children, but also by other factors such as the physical state of children and the difficulty of test paper. If a child is having a fever when taking the test, his or her score is highly possible to be not very ideal even though he or she has prepared for it well under the incentive of money. Or, if the test turn out to be really hard and the highest score is only 70 out of 100, there is no way that children can get high scores. In this sense, financial incentive sometimes cannot guarantee good marks. Besides, it might lead to the circumstance that some children cheat in the exam or lie about their marks in order to get the money. And examples related to this phenomenon abound. Therefore, offering money to school age children to encourage them to get high scores is not desirable.

Moreover, even if this approach is effective, grade should not be the only focus of parents. Admittedly, some students can get high score thorough their own efforts because they work harder under the attraction of money. However, this is not something to be so happy about. For school-age children, their performances should not be solely valued by scores. They need to be encouraged to develop more abilities in an all-round way. For example, it is essential for them to master the ability to get along well with other people. If parents only focus on scores and confine children in a small study with the lure of money, they will be deprived of the privilege of social life. And it is safe to say children raised up this way might have more trouble dealing with others. So I do not think it is a responsible method to give children money in change of good scores.

In my opinion, a more desirable and responsible approach to improve children’s scores as well as develop other necessary capabilities is that parents care more about them, take some time to help them with schoolwork, and take some time to explore the world with them. Money is not the penicillin of every problem. And grade is not the only thing children need.

To put it in a nutshell, parents should ponder over the way to bring up children. As discussed above, it is not a good idea to offer money for children to get high scores.