Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

People in the world are suffering from various types of problems that are simply avoidable. A lot of these problems can be traced back to the over usage and addiction to smart phones. I believe that young children should not own smart phones.

The phenomena of addiction to smart phones has a more profound impact on the health of children when compared to adults. These days, you can rarely see a child who is not suffering from a poor eyesight. Encouraging the usage of smart phones in children tends to make them more lazy as they forgo any physical activity by prefering to stay indoors and play all kinds of virtual games. Some of these games are quite harmful to a child psychologically as well and leads to a distorted and false impression on what is supposed to be right and wrong. For example, games that promote violence such as 'Call of Duty' or 'Counter Strike' are not appropriate for children under a particular age. Owning smart phones also leads to reduced social interactions among children which is harmful for the personal development of a child. What is necessary for a young child is to interact with the physical world around him. The child needs to learn how various people differ from each other, how the natural world functions, face hardships and learn how to overcome them, such as, getting hurt while playing or by some accident and so on. It is said that the curiosity of a human being is maximum when he is a child. We should not stifle that curiosity by placing a cage over it, which is what smart phones can be for children. They cage the natural inquisitivness of a child and make them monotonous and prone to be more dependant on others to help them through their life.

It can be argued that smart phones can be beneficial for children as it allows them access to information that the parents might not be able to provide or it allows the child to stay in touch with family when they are away. But all this can be achieved using a regular phone as well which doesn't have access to the internet. Owning a phone is not a major issue, but, in today's world; phones are more than simply devices to contact another person. The plethora of information that is available on the internet which is accessible through phones can be a double edged sword. It can lead to inappropriate information being accessible to a child who doesn't have the maturity to deal with it. Such instances can lead to depression, anxiety and several other psychological conditions which are very harmful.

Equipping a child with a smart phone is like handing a toddler a pair of scissors to cut paper. It is possible that the toddler might be able to cut the paper but the chances of him injuring himself are very high. Hence, I am in compliance with the parents who forbid their children from owning a smart phone.