Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones cell phones with Internetaccess while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping intouch Which point of view do you think is better and why

Thanks to technological advancement, modern life has become significantly convenient year by year. Despite a brief history of smartphones, they have spread all over the world as an indispensable tool for communication and become familiar even with young children. Considering the negative impacts on those younger generations, I believe that parents should forbid young children from owning smartphones.

First, young children tend to be obsessed with playing with smartphones, compared to adults. Since young children are less likely to be mature enough to consider the negative impacts of smartphones, they have difficulty making decisions on their own. Without the restriction of the smartphone’s usage, they would spend too much time on gaming or watching online videos with the devices.

Second, smartphones expose young children to violence and crimes. Because the internet platforms provide easy access to making connections with various groups of anonymous people across borders, it is important to be aware of the danger of anonymity on the internet. Due to a lack of risk awareness, younger children are prone to trust anonymous people through online interactions. They might get involved in committing crimes or being kidnapped in case that the children make physical contact with the people.

Third, young children are not mature enough to handle those challenges of smartphones. Although smartphones help parents to contact their children for security reasons, it would be difficult for parents to monitor children’s smartphones use. The negative effects of smartphones outweigh the positive side as long as children cannot use them responsively. Therefore, parents should not allow their children to have smartphones until their children can make decisions based on rational and critical thinking to avoid the harmful effects of the devices.

In conclusion, I agree that parents need to prohibit young children from owing smartphones because children are more vulnerable to the negative effects of technology.