At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus such as how many hours the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, and students are almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why?

Needless to say, students are suffering from some problems that their universities have. This brings up a highly controversial topic whether it is better to ask students to be involved in the campus issues in order to solve them or recruit experts. I believe that involving young adults in the decision-making process is advantageous. The reasons behind this standpoint are that adults have a better perspective and the university can save money, explained in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, students have a better perspective on topics surrounding the campus. In other words, students always use the library for studying or they go to the cafeteria in order to eat foods. Therefore, they can make good decisions about the campus in order to study better or eat delicious meals in the cafeteria. My own experience provides an illuminating insight into this fact. When I was a university student, our university administrators asked the students to participate in the decision-making process regarding the improvement of food quality in the university cafeteria. Since most of the students had food there, each student suggested a good proposal for the aforementioned improvement. As a result of this, the university made a beneficial decision about food quality of the cafeteria. Not did our university's cafeteria serve a high-quality food but also students had good meals. Consequently, as you can see, students have better perspective concerning the college environmental helping the university makes a good decision.

The second point worth discussing is related to money costs. In fact, when the university hires experts for the sake of deciding about issues students encounter, the university should spend money to hire them. Hiring expert sometimes costs a lot of money depending on the issue and the time needed to solve that problem. One example will suffice to illustrate my point. My friends' university decides to resolve the problem regarding the library's building. Their university administrator did not consider asking students to involve in the problem. My friend quoted that the university president had not known how much it would cost for them to hire experts before they recruited them. However, when they contracted them, they paid up to several thousand dollars which were really a considerable amount of money. Nevertheless, if it was requested by university from the students to entail in the issue of the campus, their college president would not spend that money. Hence, the university can save a lot of money if students are involved in solving the issues concerning the campus.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, I contend that involvement of young adults in making decisions about the campus problems is beneficial because university not only will benefit from the perspective of students but also will save money.