Students should be required to have jobs while they are at school

Some people believe that teenagers should not be required to work while they are at school so that they can concentrate on their academics or sports. However, I feel that adolescents should be required to do jobs while they are studying.

Firstly, in this cut-throat competitive world it is essential to have some kind of professional experience when applying to schools or for jobs. Having a relevant professional or volunteering experience immensely increases one’s chances to get that desired job or to get admitted to colleges. For instance, I used to tutor young children when I was in high school and when my friend and I, right out of high school, applied to work for a tutoring company I got selected. Despite having comparable academic records, I believe I was selected but my friend was not because my friend lacked experience and I had previous experience of tutoring. Hence, working while studying can help one to get better jobs or admission to better universities.

Secondly, in order to succeed in future, it is imperative that young people find their true passion before they join a college or enter the job market. Working in different places can help people to find what they really enjoy to do. For instance, my cousin, had several different jobs when she was in school and a few months before graduation she started a job at a local zoo. While working there she figured that she absolutely loved working with animals. Consequently, she decided to pursue biology in college. Since she loved what she studied, today she became a successful biologist. Therefore, it can be said that working provides teenagers with opportunities to find what they really enjoy doing.

Lastly, working can allow young people to earn and save money, which can be exceedingly helpful for the future. When I was in high school I worked so I had the opportunity to save up a good amount of money. Initially, it did not seem like an impressive amount but the money really helped when I needed to buy a second-hand car to drive to my college regularly. The university was far and taking the bus every time would have been time consuming. Fortunately, owing to the car that I bought with the money that I saved while working as a teenager, I was able to save time.

Some state that a student’s job is to study and acquire as much knowledge as possible for a brighter future. Nevertheless, I believe students should be required to work so that they can gain experience, save money and have the chances to find their true passion.