TOEFL essay:When people succeed, it is because of hard work, Luck has nothing to do with success.” Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above? Use specific and examples to explain your position.

Some people believe that success of an individual depends only on his/her hard work. While many others are of the belief that luck plays an important role in the success of people. If I were forced to choose, I definitely believe that luck plays a crucial role in determining one's success. I firmly believe in this opinion due to several reasons and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, luck and hard work combined, more often than not, results in successful outcomes in an individual's life. It is very important for various aspects to go in favor of a person, in order for him to be successful at any task. Since, a person can't control everything, he/she must have some luck to have a favorable outcome, and hence, it is important for people to understand that some things are out of their control and should accept any outcome, irrespective of success or failure. Take for example, the two cases of Sachin Tendulkar and Vinod Kambli, both of whom were prolific sportsmen of their time. They both went on to represent India in the game of Cricket, but, only Sachin was considered an all time great, and Vinod had a very short career. It is important to make note of an incident which took place during June, 1980, when India were supposed to play against South Africa. Before this series, both Sachin and Vinod, had not performed well in the previous matches, but, the selectors decided to give Sachin another chance, and Vinod was kicked out of the team for his poor performances. In this case, Sachin had luck on his side, and went to create many milestones from that series onwards, but Vinod failed to make a comeback. Therefore, this incident throws light on the importance luck plays in one's success. If Sachin did not have luck on his side that day, he may not have represented the country again.

Secondly, people's fortune or riches are useful for determining the success of a person. Many businesses have a lot of money invested in various areas or different fields. An investment banking firm will invest the money of their shareholders in various companies in the stock market. Stock market is an area where prices are very volatile and thus, it is important for people to invest at the right time. In such cases, luck plays an important role, despite the fact that the company would have done proper research on their investments. Drawing from my own experiences, my father was the CEO of a multi-national investment banking company. He was very successful in his field of work and, became the CEO through his hard work and efforts. However, during the 2007 stock market crash in the US, his company lost all their money invested in the various companies, and my father was fired from his job after the incident. Since, luck wasn't on his side, he lost his fortunes made over the years and his job. This incident, thus, helps us understand the importance of luck in the success of people.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I firmly believe that luck plays an important role, along with hard work, in determining the success of individuals since, various elements are out of people's control and their luck during that time determines their success.