TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

My personal experience showed me that both keeping old friends and making new ones is important: it depends on the different needs of life.

When I left my country to move in France for studying I tried to keep in contact with all my Italian friends in order to feel less far from home and to keep in mind where I am from, especially in some moments of loneliness. After several months nearly all the persons I considered as friends keep less and less in contact with me, making me understand that we were experiencing different stages of our life and therefore it was difficult to keep the same relationship we had before because everyone was growing in a different way.

In the meanwhile I found new friends at university and I started to discover new kinds of relationships, sometimes very different from the ones I was habituate to. For example at the beginning I found very strange the fact that French young people use to see each others in the cafe and spend their time and their money there smoking, chatting and drinking. With my Italian friends we use to see each other outside, near the seaside for a volleyball match indeed or at someones`s home in the evening to make a pizza party together, without spending too much money.

These different habits make me think about how different could be one culture compare to another and how difficult would have been for me to keep the same relationship with both types of friends.

On one side I preferred the way I behaved with my old friends and I missed them, but on the other side, I realized the necessity of seeking for new friends, so I tried to agree to their habits and I experienced something else.

Today I can say that this kind of experience has been very useful for me. Last summer, coming back home for holidays I organized a party to my house nearby the mountains and I invited both French new friends and my Italians old ones. The result was that with the new ones I experienced something they have never done before, and this strengthened our friendship, whereas with the old ones I felt home like every time, as I had never left, as our friendship had never been changed.

To conclude, I think both old and new friends are very important, because trough them we can learn about our self and our changes in anytime; sometimes they are the mirror of what we were and what we become.