TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

Nowadays people spend more time to relax and less time to work than before. I disagree with the statement that people today allocate excessive time on things they like to do, such as entertainment, rather than doing things they should do, such as work. I think that it is normal for people to spend more time to relax, especially with the increasing development of technology at present.

People have the right to enjoy life and no blame should be attached to it when people spend more time relaxing than working. It is a commen sense that life includes work; however, human cannot work everyday and enjoy no personal leisure time. Human, unlike robots, need relaxation to revive themselves from arduous work. Besides, no critic should be made when a person spend time to enjoy life instead of working. Normally, a person works five days a week and spend weekends to enjoy life, spending time participating in sports, reading books and companying family. The weekends are spare time allocated from life exclusively for relaxation. The five workdays are designed for work purpose. Nonetheless, people should not be blamed for spend more than two days a week to rest and work less than five days in a week.

Technology in contemporary makes it possible for people to spend less time on work than before. With advanced technology, workers nowadays can work more efficient than before, which allows them to spend less time on a same amount of work than before. In addition, the participation of robots in work liberates immense people from labor force, which enable people to spend work less. For example, farmers nowadays cultivate about 100 hectors land with only one person and several machines, which is far more efficient than before. A farmer managed 1 hector land at most in 1960 in China. Besides, the introduction of robots in car manufacturing industry reduces human involvement to one tenth of prerobot time. A manufactory line require approximately 100 skilled workers in the 1950s; whereas, it only needs around 10 technicions to manage the production of robots.

In conclusion, I oppose the claim that people today spend too much time on peosonal enjoyment than working. One reason is that relaxing and enjoying life should not be stigametized. Another reason is that technology today allows people to spend less time in work and spare more time to enjoy life.