TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students are under tremendous pressure to perform well at school and outside the school. Lot of job opportunities open up with good grades from a reputed college. But, are good grades actually a measure of knowledge? I will say no. Good understanding and having a strong basic foundation of concepts is a key to success during and after school years. I believe that, it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than learning facts and I will explore more about it further in the essay.

First, students are giving way too much importance to grades than focusing on the topic itself. In fact, nowadays students are learning for exams and not for knowledge. By jamming facts before exams students are not able to retain that information for longer time. Any Individual with in-depth knowledge will have better understanding of any subject and with enough experience will gain an authority in that particular field. For example, one my friend in college used to get really good marks in exams. But, if you ask him a question about any topic we learned in earlier semester, he could not able to answer it.

On the other hand, if students learn and understand the idea and concept properly, they can always reflect back on it even after years. They will remember the topic and logic behind it and can learn other things pretty quickly that shares the same logic. To ensure overall growth of students, education system in various system is undergoing a drastic and positive change. For example, when I was in school we learned in Science class that plants need sunlight, water and carbon dioxide to survive. We never question the book. Now the scenario is changed, my daughter is learning science with hands on experiments right from elementary level. Teachers are conducting experiments in the classroom to show the dependency and effects of these required factors on plants. Students are keeping observation journals to record the results.

I do not deny the fact that, sometimes students run out of time to give enough attention to every topic, but if they learn the basic concept they have better chance of reproducing it accurately. Facts can be easily washed out from memory if not used for long time and that is why, I strongly believe, it is crucial to grasp the logic behind any topic than to learn facts.