TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are certain considerations or factors that everyone can take into account to investigate and examine the impact of advertisements on young children. I certainly agree that television advertising directed toward children should be forbidden. Someone can consciously weigh the pros and cons of each side. The explanations go as follows.

Firstly, television advertising can waste parents’ money. These days, because of the world economical criticism, all parents have to work hard to make money for clothes, foods, and other things that are essential for a family. In this circumstance, parents have to save their money and prevent from any unwanted wasting. Most of the advertisers now use an excellent visual and audio effect to offer persuasive programs, and so attract children to purchase their products. Because of this, children should force their parents to devote money and buy something new, and so budget limitation can be one of the prominent and crucial consequence.

Furthermore, avoiding from physical and psychological difficulties is another noticeable reason. All parents perfectly understand that the ages of two to five are very critical for children to grow and become a healthy adult. Based on a research, which has been carried out by Society Department of Utah University in 2016, more than 60% of the advertisements directed toward children are oriented for candy and junk food. This food can be the origin of several thorny problems such as overweight, malnutrition, and hypertension. Therefore, it is crystal clear that impeding mentioned advertisements would be necessary to hinder those sophisticated and problematic issues.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by one who argues that these advertisements have some benefits and they should be allowed. Chiefly, almost all advertisements are very innovative, and hence they can aid and abet children to extend their experience to be more creative. However, still I affirm that advertisements aimed for children should not be permitted. Although advertisements have some profits, these advantages can be neglected. Plus, there are dozens of instructive or informative cartoons and animations that can employ instead of told advertisements to extend children ability to be more inventive.

Due to aforementioned ground, all folk should bear in mind that television advertising is not beneficial for children. Participation of learning and healthiness are two prime and conspicuous supports.