TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A prevalent statement we hear a lot today is that having broead knowledge of many subjects is better than specializing in one specific subject in academy since we have more ways to apply our knowldege in. A considerable number of people, however, argue that only by specializing in one specific subject can we achieve great success because we can concentrate our energy and time this way. As far as I am concerned, the former view seems to align more with my perspective. There are several reasons to support my point of view. The following two will suffice here.

To begin with, have nroad knowldege does not mean that we treat all the subjects equally and spread our energy and time evenly. It is means that when we have deep knowledge in one subject, we are always ready to learn knowledge of other subject. This is becoming more and more important in today's society because talents that can apply their knowledge to all walks of live are demanding. For example, as we can see, IT is the most properous field today. Programers become more and more valuable. However, what people need is not just a well-train programer that can write codes in different language, but a one that can build database for financial data, or analysis medical images and so on. The specific application environement require programers have basic knowledge besides computer. In this case, we can see how a broad range of knowledge matters.

For another, having knowledge of many academic subjects will always give us inspiration or tools in our main filed. As we all know, Newton is a giant and he had achievement in both physics and astronomy. And we are also impressed by his understanding of gavity. However, what we also need to know is that Newton is also a great mathematics. When he was trying to exploring the nature, Newton also realized the importance of math, with out which, his insightful views will remain hypothesis forever. Mathemetics provides Newton the key to unlock the door to nature, and so do other subjects. Not only a doctor should be good at phramacy, but also he need to know the machanism behind them, that is, biology and chemistry. There are thousands of hundred of examples like that could be named. And the reason is as the same.

Admittedly, a minority of people may aruge that specialize in one specifc subject will concentrate one's limited energy and cost. However, what I want to refute is that this kind of thinking is rigid. Like catalyst in chemistry, some sort of other knowledge sometimes will inspire us or break a ceiling or a bottleneck. These potentials are worthy and always the key in unimaginable breakthrough.

For the reasons mentioned above, I highly agree that broad knowledge of many academic subjects is more important than specializing in just one.