TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

“The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life. Rarely do members of one family grow up under the same roof” reflecting us that the family members nowadays become less connected to each other. The issue whether the extended family is less important now in the past or not aroused much controversy between people with different ages, and different perspectives. Some contend think that the extent family now has a greatly significant role in their family life due to their support and their caring. However, in my opinion, I completely agree that they are less important today than in the past due to the help of modern technology in our society, and maintaining our privacy.

To begin with, the importance of our extended family are less significantly now than the past since in the past sometimes we needed them in some help such as caring for our children while we are working, or helping in housework duties. But due to the modern technology, we do not need them as much; we can get help within a short period of times such as babysitter for our kids, and hiring someone else to help us with the family work. The technologies nowadays enhance the people living condition, making their life more convenient. Another important thing that extended family can do is providing the information and educates family members. However, in modern society, we have schools to get our educations. We have several methods such as Television, and Internets. This resource can be easily accessed. We don’t depend right now on our family member to get knowledge. The technology cleared the barrier that prevented us from leading a convenient life.

In addition to modern technology, nowadays people tend to live alone with their small care family rather than live with many families’ members with a big family to avoid any problems.Therefore; they have their own circle of communication, all of that helps them to maintain their own privacy. In the past, the family members want to live with each other, and wanted to create the intimacy atmosphere, as the result, anyone could interfere with the others’ opinion without caring about what the other wanted to do. But now due to the modern society, everyone lives in a different city than the other, and everyone does not like to let the other know about their own things to maintain their privacy, and preventing distraction from other people when taking a decision. For example, I had a chance to live in U S A back in 2006. I was living in rural are since the entire family member live together, when I got the lottery, all my family members knew about it, kept advise me not to go since they thought that I will leave them and it is not good for me to live alone, their opinions distracted me, and sometimes affected on me. It was a big challenge. In that time, I wished to maintain my privacy.” Privacy - like eating and breathing - is one of life's basic requirements.” Once said Katherine reflecting us that the importance of privacy.

As all things considered, while it is true that our extended family create the intimacy atmosphere among each other, but when it comes to maintaining our own privacy, and the development of the technology, we do not need longer for their help.