Do you live with your grandparents and relatives? Most people would answer “no”. While some people prefer to live in a extended family, statistics reveal the number of extended families is decreasing. I agree with the opinion that the importance of a extended family decreased in the modern society because high expenses and less need.

To begin, maintaining an extended family requires high living expenses due to the soaring prices of basic necessities including food and housing. Because of the recent economic crisis and inflation, living expenses have increased. The rising prices of commodities increasing basic living expenses even more. Plus, our rapidly developing society produces premium brands, a main culprit in excessive consumption. Including the cost of expensive university tuition fees and additional tutoring, the cost for educating a single child puts an extremely heavy burden on parents.Such cost could be tripled or quadrupled in case of a large family. Parents have to give up their normal life to afford such high cost to maintain an extended family. Thus, High living costs and educational expenses decreases the importance of an extended family.

Furthermore, in the modern society, there is less need to maintain a large family due to advanced technology and less need for manpower. In the past, when agriculture was the main way to earn money, an extended family was essential because for planting, carrying, harvesting and selling crops needed human labor. Also, if one agricultural process was poorly managed, all the crops were poorly managed. Because of this, more reliable workers like family were needed. Furthermore, while men were out doing the work, there were also additional people needed to educated the children, do the house chores and take care of the sick people, which is also a reason why maintaining a large family was crucial. However, due to industrialization and technological improvement, many process that required manual labor have been replaced by machines. Therefore, the need to manage a extended family has decreased.

In conclusion, even though some may think extended family has its own benefits, but we cannot deny the importance of it decreased compared to the past due to increased living cost and justification to do so.