TPO 20 – task 2: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they already know how to do well.

As suggested in the definition of success, achieving a profound result with correct and proper decisions. Expectedly, a controversial question arises among minds whether successful people should try new things and take risks or do what they know how to do well. From my perspective, although taking risks may bring success, thanks to luck, I believe that doing what I know is the best way to take decisions.

The first and important reason is its time importance. Many acquired skills earlier help us to stand up concrete toward an approach. Since the profession is developing over time by experiencing the challenging and facing problems, learning new approaches require to spend valuable time on the subject. Moreover, the adaptation process is even harder for virtually everybody. For example, one of my friends had decided to change his department at the university, and transferred to a totally different department, from mechanical engineering to molecular biology and genetics. Even though he is interested and successful in the new department, he threw away 3 years from his youth, indeed, he might be successful in the previous department as well.

Subsequent and a related reason why people should follow what they know how to do well is its practical manner, meaning the quick response from the work have been done for. CEOs of companies generally not taking risks and do innovation to protect their steady stage of profits. Although there are a few examples of successful CEOs in history, such as Steve Jobs who is the crazy head of Apple Company, generally, taking risky decision fails the company and lead to lost all of their customers even. Moreover, in a short time, companies can benefit from not changing the way they follow, and they can make a profit.

In conclusion, some people may find my arguments above rational, but I follow my way. Indeed, taking risk will bring success, but it requires luck certainly. Otherwise, most of the risks will result in fails. Besides, learning and try new things takes noticable time. Therefore, it is best not to take risk and follow previous approach.