TPO 26Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

The career is an important part of our life. It is vital to say there will be more chance to get success if the people would start their career in the field of their interest. Some argue that it will be easier for children to follow their parents and make a career in the same field. While others hold the different idea that children do have the freedom to choose their education and as well as a career. From my perspective, the latter view carries more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

Primarily, selecting a job is really a tough task for the children when they start their initial job. There is a chance that their ideas and thinking may differ from what their parents think and believe. It is true that parents have limited source to provide their child because of the job market has been changed a lot compared to past days. On the other hand, today, children have become more knowledgeable with the help of technology. As soon as, they graduated from the university, they might have gotten a lot of experience through the career fairs and the job campaigns arranged by the university. This would help the students to get more exposure to the different jobs and requirements for those. Thus, it does not make sense if parents force their children to choose the same career as they have done in their life.

Secondly, one cannot deny the fact that some parents might be having a different mindset in a matter of job perspective. In the past, parents neither had much job options nor access for an education because of poor financial condition. As a reason, lots of people were forced to accept the minimal wedge job such as working in a factory or working as a farmer. On the contrary, youngsters from today's generation, are ambitious. They may not accept to work as their parents worked earlier. There are many parents who do not want their child to follow their low demanding career path. In this regard, it is merely to say, it is not good for children to choose a similar career to their parents.

Admittedly, there are some advantages to having the same career as the parents have. This way, children will get a piece of valuable information for the career from their parents as parents have gone through the same situation earlier in their life. My own brother is a compelling example of this. My brother has joined my father's business who has a jewelry shop for the last thirty years. This way, my brother did not need to project a new business. Additionally, he saved unnecessary effort which he may need to attempt if he has chosen the different career. Thus, my father's efforts to make him stable in the same business is an example of an advantage of following is the same career as parents do have.

All in all, from all given aforementioned reasons, I strongly believe that children should follow the career in that there are good at, and they have enthusiasm towards. This is because parents may have a different thought process from their child. People should follow their career depend on their ability and their interest to work with a specific field.