TPO 33

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether students take advantage on group project. In my opinion, working with other students can be big hindrance for students. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, students in the group works unequally because of other peers who have no commitment and not ambitious about the assignment. Moreover, some graduates end up finishing the homework alone although they have group mates who must help them. Therefore, some people of the team do not learn anything while others master it. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. When I started studying in university, my mathematics instructor assigned graduates group project, and I was sharing similar group with four pupils whom I have never seen before. When I started researching about the topic, none of my associates helped me. Afterwards I ended up accomplishing everything alone, which means others get a fine grade on a topic without learning anything. If we had worked one by one, they would have learn and handle the topic for the grade. Drawing from my own experience, some people lose their commitment while working as project because they believe others rather than themselves.

Secondly, if pupils are required to study as team, magnitude of time will be consumed for group meeting, which may be hindrance. Waiting for other members and talking about decision expends large amount of time, especially if some of the the team are not punctual. For instance, the last session, I prepared presentation with few students one of whom is bad at timekeeping. When we arranged meeting in order to decide what topic we choose, we ruined almost three hours by waiting the member who is not punctual. Moreover, we deferred our research and lost our opportunity to develop our topic because of him. Unfortunately, this is common event among graduates especially juniors including me, which confine them to consume their time and learn efficiently. In conclusion, group projects tend to ruin big amount of time for unnecessary things such as waiting,

To sum up, many people fails to take advantage on the team assignment. This is because some students do not involve in the discussion and studying or cause problems by letting others wait.