TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

At moment, there is an important debate about whether the use of smartphones, social media, and online games is beneficial in some way or negatively affects children’ education. Some people think that the modern technology has increased and improved the teaching methods; they state that children have much more information available than they had in the past. However, I personally believe that today teachers have more difficulties in educating children; I fell this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

Although nowadays children can access the broadest source of knowledge through smartphones, social media, and online games, often the quality of information gained from the internet is incomplete and superficial. In addition, the information is obtained instantly, and this has led children to be less patient and more distracted when there are at school. Currently, teachers are facing the problem of keeping their students focused for long period during their lessons. My own experience is a compelling example of this, when I was at primary school, my parents bought me a smartphone, soon after my math marks went down. My teacher, then, ask for a meeting with my parents because she noticed that I had difficulty in focusing during the class and the homework were full of distraction mistakes, so my parents decide to limit the use of smartphone only during the weekend, as results of this my marks improved a lot.

Furthermore, when children spend most of their time using smartphones, doing game online or using social networks, they tend to isolate and get tired easily. Primary school is the place where teachers educate children not only about the basic topic such as math history or geography, but they have help children to gain important social skills, such as working in a team, help each other and so on. When children spend most of their time using techs, they learn to stay more alone rather than spend time with friends, consequently, when they are at school have problems to create a relationship with their companions and teachers, this makes the teachers’ job of educating future generations harder than it was in the past. For example, when my friends Jo got a smartphone when her parents split up, she stopped to see me because she preferred to stay alone and have fun to play games online instead to spend time outdoors with me as we used to.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people involved in the educational field are facing more problems than past educators were, this is because techs have made children less patience, less focused, so teachers have more difficulties to keep their attention high for long period. The task of educating children nowadays is further made hard because children are always more isolated and tired because they spend most of their time alone and often they are up until late at night playing online games.