TPO 40

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many parents are seeking a way to make their children study hard. I admit that there are many opinions about this; however, parents should not offer their children money for their grades. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, what really motivates students to learn is not money but their interests. Many students have their own interests or curiosities. This intrinsic motivation is essential for keeping to learn. It is not easy for parents to find what really interests their children, but I can say that offering money cannot cultivate their curiosities. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a high school student, I was struggling to get a better grade at school. Actually, I could not feel interested in what was taught at school. My parents suggested that they pay me money according to my grade in school, but this could not improve my grades. However, I happened to watch a scientific fiction movie, and I found it very interesting. After I saw the movie, I became interested in physics. As a result, I started to study physics hard, and I could get the best grade at school, although my parents did not offer any money. Through this experience, I learned that the best way to motivate students to study is by stimulating their curiosities.

Next, parents have to increase the amount of money to keep on stimulating the motivation. As I mentioned earlier, motivation for studying should be intrinsic. Even if parents succeed in making their children study diligently once, this motivation will not last long. Besides, they have to increase the rewards because their children will not be satisfied with the money. For example, when one of my friends, Ken, was an elementary school student, his parents gave him money when he got a better grade. He studied hard to buy what he wanted, and he finally could get the top grade in the class. However, his parents could not increase the rewards because their income was not so high. Consequently, he was disappointed and stopped studying hard.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that parents should not reward their children's grades in school by giving money. This is because money cannot be the best motivation for studying, and parents have to continue to increase their rewards.