TPO 43 Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion which of the following is the best thing to do Interrupt and correct the mistake right away Wa

We live in a society and it is important to learn how to behave properly in social gatherings. For educational and professional reasons, we attend classes and official meetings. It is crucial to know how to be polite, courteous and amiable at those events. As a human, teacher or meeting leader can make mistakes and people might choose to say nothing or correct mistakes right way. I personally prefer to wait for the right moment and talk to the teacher or meeting leader after the meeting for three compelling reasons.

To begin with, we do not know intention of the speaker. In some scenario, it might happen that the speaker says something intentionally. So, without having the idea about background of that matter or knowing what is going on lecturer's mind while discussing on some topic, it would not be wise to interrupt and say my opinion loudly. For instance, in our company, every year higher management fixes a certain criteria to evaluate single project's contribution. According to this criteria, we have to propose 3 new project ideas in this year. However, in team meeting, our leader said that we have to propose 5 ideas to achieve good grade. Though it was incorrect information, it was said intentionally to set the bar higher for team members.

Second point that comes to my mind is that, it is not judicious to hamper the flow of a meeting. It is often happen that the mistake in lecture is not directly related to main topic or target idea of discussion. Therefore, we must ignore those minor mistakes which are irrelevant to the topic. Rather we should let the lecturer continue and keep current flow to bring up the main topic and finish discussion session on time. To illustrate this I would like to share my experience of attending a training session yesterday. The session was about a programming algorithm and he points out some real life experience to describe that concept. One student pointed out a mistake in that story and hinder the flow of speaking and consequently the speaker failed to finish his topic while trying to convince the students about the mistake which was totally irrelevant.

Finally, all person has dignity and we should not embarrass a person in public places. If we think that the speaker makes a mistake, we should wait until the meeting is over and later we can discuss or inform him/her about that. If our opinion is correct, then the speaker can notify his/her students or members about the mistakes via mail or in next class.

Simply put, it is fairly safe to draw the conclusion that it is wise to keep patience and discuss with speaker later about his/her probable mistakes and then take proper steps later to fix that.