TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

The best reaction to a wrong statement in class has always been a controversial issue among students. While some students believe that interrupting the teacher and correcting the mistake is the best thing to do, there are others holding the view that students should neglect the mistakes of teachers. As far as I am concerned students should react to the teacher in a logical manner. It goes without saying that neglecting the mistake or interrupting the teacher will cause some problems. So waiting until the class or meeting is over is the best approach in my view. I will vindicate my standpoint in the following article.

The first point that juts out of the mind is the fact that, interrupting the class may cause a loss of concentration and miss-scheduling. An example can illustrate this. Imagine a student who interrupts the teacher and starts to argue about an incorrect statement. Likewise, the teacher reacts to his opinion afterward. These arguments will stop the teacher to spend enough time on the matters that are in the class schedule. This indicates that, waiting until the end of class and argue your opinion is the best approach about a wrong statement occurred by a teacher or meeting leader.

The second point that is worth considering is the fact that when a teacher explains some scientific matter incorrectly, students will learn wrong information about the topic. In this situation, if a student knows that the teacher's statement is false, he should mention it to the teacher at the end of the class. Consequently, the teacher can correct his mistake in the following sessions. Needless to say, neglecting a situation like this by a student who is aware of the wrong explanations of the teacher may cause serious problems to his classmates in following sessions.

To make a long story short, neglecting the problem or interrupting the teacher are not the best reactions. According to the reasons that are mentioned above, talking to the teacher at the end of the class can bring best results for the class, the teacher, and the students.