TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

In general, the remarks and behavior of celebrities are considered quite influential. Some people think that opinions of personalities are more important to the young generation than the elder. I agree with the statement and my perspective is based on the following reasons.

For one thing, the youth have strong desires for peer acceptance and approval in comparison with the elder. To achieve peer recognition, young people are eager to keep up with the latest trend in case that they cannot join the popular topics discussed by their friends. When I was in high school, everyone paid much attention to Jeremy Lin, a world-renowned NBA basketball player. Even though some girls weren't interested in basketball, they still pretended they loved him so that they could acquire the sense of involvement. This irrational crush on Jeremy Lin is also referred to as '' Linsanity'' since virtually everyone loved him no matter they cared about basketball or not at the time.

For another, the personalities are able to project a youthful and energetic image that young people are proud to identify with. Unlike the elder, who have formed their own values with rich life experience, adolescents need a convincing principle as well as inspiring stories that encourage them to pursue their dreams. Take my best friend for example. She adores a charming singer so much that she does not only imitate her wearing but also follow her remarks as a key to attain her objectives. Believe it or not, she even takes notes of the singer's suggestions and memorizes them as best as she can.

Furthermore, some schools and educational institutions also invite popular celebrities to give speeches as they believe that these icons have great influence on the youth. I can still recall that a famous athlete was invited to our graduation ceremony and that everyone was so attentive without whispering. Eventually, each graduate was encouraged by the athlete and gained more faith to face the competitive future.

Based on the aforesaid, I strongly agree that personalities are more influential to the young generation as they need someone to admire and follow, guiding them through countless setbacks and confused moments.