TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Freindship is one of the indispensable part of our life. We need to communicate with others and make friends and be loved. While some believe maintaining few old friends are more important for having a happy life, others against it. In my opinion, although every old friend is like a precious gem that enrich our life , for having a happy life ,we need to make new friends due to changing situation in life, have more connection and better social comfort.

First of all, our life goes different stages and we have to adapt with any change in our life. For instance, when we grow up we go from high school to different university or college and then move to other place for job . Some have to change their city and even their country . Thus, even though in every stage of our life we may have special friends to hang out, making new friends is inevitable and necessary for us, unless we feel lonely and desperate. In fact, new friends in our workplace or college and so forth give us opportunity to get use to new environment and feel comfortable. In other words, without them we feel isolated, helpless and disappointed. Eventhough, we need time to trust our new friends and there would be misunderstanding in between, we learn how to be more flexible and easy going. Therefore, making new friends make our life more joyful.

Also, different friends have different point of views, thus, they broaden our perspective and make us open-minded. In other words, it is pleasant to learn how to see the things differently and from different scopes. This happens by making new friends with different ideas. Without friendship with variety of people, we grow very prejudiced. For instance, when I went to college and lived in dormitory, I made new friends there from different culture.It was interesting how we can change our view to improve ourselves and not be judgmental. After that, I felt differently about different cultures and understood that every culture has something that we can learn about. So, making new friends help us to be more experienced and be more mature.

Lastly, we live in the world of communication. Improving our social skills is very important for our satisfaction and success. Research study from Harvard university showed that people with greater and broader social connection live longer and healthier. Also, people with greater network of friends are more successful. So, Humans need to have social life which is collection of our friends and acquaintances. We need our friends and our social life to feel happy and depression is the result of loneliness and isolation. Thus, we need to make new friends during our life to feel happy and not feel as an outsider.

In conclusion, although we need to maintain our old friends due to their reliability and being more familiar with us, making new friends have advantages for living happily. Not only they grow our perspective and broaden our view, but also make our social life more prosperous. When we are surrounded by lots of friends, we would have more pleasure and happiness.