Which of the following activities do you think will be the most beneficial to the environment? (1) Commute by biking or walking (2) Recycling (3) Eating a vegan diet

The importance of protecting the environment has become a widely discussed topic in society. In order to conserve the environment’s most precious resources, people have committed to various lifestyle changes, ranging from using more recyclable products to being more conscious of energy use. I strongly believe that eating a vegan diet is the most worthwhile activity when it comes to protecting the environment, since it reduces global warming, decreases greenhouse gas emissions, and allows for the expansion of forests.

To begin with, the elements of a plant-based diet require little to no factory use, which can cut back on global warming. By its nature, food production in factories negatively impacts the environment because it releases toxins, such as methane, into the atmosphere. As such, these chemicals negatively impact the environment by contributing to global warming. Through adhering to a vegan diet, however, toxic waste from factories would be reduced, resulting in a decrease of global warming.

Secondly, vegan diets can decrease greenhouse gas emissions because they eliminate the need for livestock rearing. For instance, non-vegan products such as meat, eggs, and milk all involve animal agriculture, releasing an increasing amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Further, feeding grain to animals, killing them for food, and later processing and storing their products results in higher electricity use. Consequently, a minimized demand for animal products can lead to fewer greenhouse gasses.

Finally, in addition to its ability to lessen directly harmful risks to the environment, a vegan diet can free up land used for agriculture. For example, a large amount of forests are cut down in order to grow crops for farm animals and supply land for pasture. However, the prevalence of vegan diets would eliminate the need for animal agriculture use, and allow for more forests and natural landscapes. Therefore, a higher amount of forests would aid in increasing oxygen levels and better air quality.

All in all, choosing to eat a vegan diet is the most beneficial lifestyle choice for the environment. Eliminating animal products from one’s diet would not only cut back on chemicals that negatively affect the environment, but it would also help provide more green space for our environment.