You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or club. Do you agree or disagree that a person’s honesty is the most important thing to consider in deciding whom to vote for? Use reasons and examples to support your position.

That a leader’s skills and qualities to guide an organization are important functions which can bring about “success” is obvious for everyone. Although some people think that being honest is not critical in leadership, I, personally, do believe that there are few criteria more important than honesty for a competent leader because of two reasons which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, being honest is the most important “building block” in a leader-follower relationship, which can help to make a mutual trust among the members of an organization. As Thomas Jefferson once said, “Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom.” Therefore, it is evident that the more honest a person is in his or her life, the better mentality people possibly have about their performance. For instance, when a leader speaks with their followers in the face of problems instead of hiding the truth, others who follow the leader will be encouraged to be honest such that a relationship based on mutual trust will be created among them. In such trustworthy atmosphere, all people can express their real opinions, thoughts, and new ideas; thus there is no reason for dishonesty. Undoubtedly, they might have more opportunities to become successful than organizations in which honesty is ignored. If honesty does not be considered as the first priority, however, everyone may tell many a white lie without paying attention to their negative effects. As a matter of fact, this mistrust may lead to the destruction of integrity and failure.

Equally important is to take full responsibility for wrong decisions and poor choices. Taking responsibility is the highest mark of great leaders. Unfortunately, this is a missing link in many organizations. In most cases, a leader denies any responsibility for several reasons, one of which is afraid of becoming criticized by others. Indeed, a leader who is honest has the courage of taking responsibility for any decision and risk. With little doubt, such a “committed and responsible” leader not only can be an excellent role model for his or her followers but increase the possibility of success for the organization as well. If an individual is responsible regarding his or her mistakes, they will try not to repeat them again. Since they learn valuable experience the hard way and all these are by virtue of being honest. On the other hand, rarely can be guaranteed the success of an organization in which leaders hold others responsible whenever anything goes wrong in a project rather than themselves.

In light of these critical merits, I strictly agree that honesty is of great importance. A mutual trust and responsibility can improve the influence of a leadership. A leader who is honest can bring diverse successes for an organization, and therefore the presence of them is vital.